A08

Circumstellar matter with ALMA and HERSCHEL


Scientific rationale

Fundamental evolution of molecular gas and interstellar dust take place in circumstellar environments, during early (young stellar objects and disks) and evolved (AGB and PNe) phases of stellar evolution, but also witness this most critical and less known stages of stellar evolution.

Protostellar and and pre-main sequence phases are obscured phases which correspond to the collapse and the formation of proto-planetary disks, witnessing the end of the accretion phase and redistribution of angular momentum. Ejections of matter, or molecular outflows, are the main clues of MHD processes governing accretion and equilibrium of internal disks. Circumstellar envelopes of evolved stars reveal the key-process governing their evolution, mass loss, and possibly prevent form direct observations of the central star, especially uring the transition AGB - Planetary Nebula. This transition also corresponds to the development of circumstellar asymmetries, revealing fundamental properties of the central star, such as magnetism, rotation and binarity.

This workshop aims at discussing recent and future progress on (sub-)millimeter observations of circumstellar molecular gas and dust, in order to constrain stellar formation processes and poorly known properties of evolved stars. Thanks to its spatial resolution and versatility, ALMA will lead to decisive breakthroughs on these subjects. Starting with recent Herschel results, this workshop will focus on questions to be dealt in the near future with ALMA, and discuss the Spanish and French strategies, respectively.


Scientific committee

Rafael Bachiller, Jonathan Braine, Emmanuel Dartois, Catherine Dougados, Eric Josselin, Isabelle Ristorcelli

If you have questions please contact: Catherine Dougados, Eric josselin


Program

Wednesday 22th June - Room Lisbonne
14h00-14h30 Bertrand Le Floch : Molecular emission in chemically active protostellar flows
14h30-14h50 Anaelle Maury: Towards understanding the formation of multiple systems and circumstellar disks : a high angular resolution PdBI survey of Class 0 protostars, and a pathfinder to ALMA studies
14h50-15h20 Tomas Alonso: Observational studies of intermediate mass protostars with PdBI, 30m and Herschel
15h20-15h40 Wing Fai Thi: The Herschel view of Protostellar disks
15h40-16h00 Vincent Pietu: Protostellar disks in the millimetric domain
16h00-16h10 H. Meheut: 3D simulations of Rossby vortices with Adaptive Mesh Refinement
16h10-16h30 Coffee Break
16h30-17h00 Javier Alcolea: Evolved stars as seen by Herschel/HIFI
17h00-17h20 Olivier Chesneau: Synergie between VLTI and ALMA
17h20-17h40 Ludovic Biennier: Condensation of PAHs in Circumstellar Envelopes
17h40-18h00 Yannick Libert: Probing circumstellar environments with combined HI and CO observations

A08

Circumstellar matter with ALMA and HERSCHEL


Objectifs scientifiques

Les environnements circumstellaires sont le lieu d'une évolution importante du gaz moléculaire et des poussières interstellaires lors des phases précoces (étoiles jeunes et disques) et des phases évoluées (AGB et PNs) de l'évolution stellaire, mais sont aussi les meilleurs témoins des stades les plus critiques et les plus méconnus de l'évolution stellaire que sont les phases précoces et les phases avancées.

Les phases protostellaire et de pré-sequence principale sont enfouies et correspondent à l'effondrement principal et à la formation des disques proto-planétaires, témoins de la fin de l'accrétion et de la redistribution du moment angulaire. Les éjections de matière, ou flots moléculaires, sont les indices les plus directs du processus MHD à l'origine de l'accrétion et de l'équilibre des disques internes. De même les enveloppes d'étoiles évoluées témoignent du processus-clé qui gouverne leur évolution, la perte de masse, et rendent parfois difficilement observables directement du fait des poussières des vents stellaires qui obscurcissent l'étoile, notamment lors de la transition AGB/nébuleuse planétaire. Cette transition correspond aussi au développement de l'asymétrie des enveloppes, qui révèlent des propriétés fondamentales de ces étoiles, tel que magnétisme, rotation, binarité.

Cet atelier se donne pour objectif de discuter les avancées récentes et futures sur l'exploitation des observations (sub-)millimétriques du gaz moléculaire et des poussières circumstellaires pour contraindre le processus de formation des étoiles et des disques proto-planétaire, et pour accéder aux propriétés stellaires extrêmement mal connues des étoiles évoluées. Par sa résolution spatiale et sa versatilité inégalées, ALMA va permettre des avancées décisives sur ces sujets. En partant des résultats Herschel, l'atelier se propose de discuter plus particulièrement les questions les plus urgentes qu'ALMA permettra d'approcher, et de discuter les angles d'approche respectifs adoptés par les communautés espagnole et française.


Comité scientifique

Rafael Bachiller, Jonathan Braine, Emmanuel Dartois, Catherine Dougados, Eric Josselin, Isabelle Ristorcelli

Si vous avez des questions contactez: Catherine Dougados, Eric josselin


Programme

Mercredi 22 juin - Salle Lisbonne
14h00-14h30 Bertrand Le Floch : Emission moleculaire dans les flots protostellaires chimiquement actifs
14h30-14h50 Anaelle Maury: Vers la comprehension de la formation des systemes multiples et des disques circumstellaires: etudes a haute resolution angulaire avec PdBI de proto-etoiles de Classe 0, et perspectives avec ALMA.
14h50-15h20 Tomas Alonso: Etudes observationnelles des proto-etoiles de masse intermediaire avec PdBI, 30m et Herschel
15h20-15h40 W.F. Thi: Les disques protoplanetaires vus par Herschel
15h40-16h00 V. Pietu: Les disques protoplanetaires dans le domaine millimetrique
16h00-16h10 H. Meheut: Simulations 3D de vortex de Rossby avec un code AMR
16h10-16h30 Pause café
16h30-17h00 Javier Alcolea: Etoiles evoluees avec Herschel/HIFI
17h00-17h20 Olivier Chesneau: Synergie VLTI/ALMA
17h20-17h40 Ludovic Biennier: Condensation des PAHs dans les enveloppes Circumstellaires
17h40-18h00 Yannick Libert: Etudes des environnements circumstellaires avec des observations combinees HI et CO